Categories
Older Posts- Uncategorized

My Latest Quilt, it’s different, not a flower in sight, but crows?

My latest art quilt is …well.., just a little bit different, but with congregated crows as the subject matter you may ask ?

My latest art quilt, a little different?

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   My latest art quilt is …well.., just a little bit different, but with congregated crows as the subject matter you may ask ?                                                                                                            It certainly isn’t my usual subject matter either. There’s not a single flower in sight, but crows? Yes-Sirie, it’s a departure  for me.                                                                                   But, like the quilt or not, you have to admit that it is interesting.                                               This came from my experimentation with the new acrylic inks… yes they arrived woo hoo. I played with them for a day, liked the result, so jumped right into an actual work. When I saw the results, I knew these would be a fun new addition to my tool chest of art mediums. I loved how the ink flowed  on, when applied as a wash, making unique shapes and designs. I liked the resulting piece of silk so much that I first thought I’d  just make a whole cloth abstract quilt with the fabric and not cover it up . But then I got going, adding appliqued silk painted pictures. First the big snarled tree, it fit. Then what goes with an old knarled tree? Certainly not bluebirds and butterfly’s. Well I thought and thought… CROWS! Of course or Ravens. SO it took on a life of it’s own. I must say I loved working with the inks. I mixed & matched them with my beloved Puebo Sets paints. It worked fine, they’re both acrylics. The inks are very good for finer detailing I found. It was a good combination and I’m hooked!The inks dry faster. You can easily reapply more color over dried ink. Give them a try,but remember that you still might need acyrlic fabric paints to partner with them., depending on your purposes.                                                                      Now onto the quilt info, just in case you love this and have just got to have it.The size is 37 X 19,   large enough to make a huge artistic statement hanging on your wall.The colors are golds, yellows, browns, and a smidge of green. It is 375.00 and can be obtained through my ETSY store http://etsy.com/shop/AsianArtAndQuilts or contact me directly through my email info here.Details of my crow/ravens?”]

This is a  contemporary art quilt in earthy colors. The subject matter; an old knarled tree with crows or ravens [ if you prefer
Detail of my fave.
I liked the detailed quilting of bark

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

One reply on “My Latest Quilt, it’s different, not a flower in sight, but crows?”

Leave a comment