Categories
In Progress Older Posts- PHOTOGRAPHY

A iphone photo I feel a quilt coming on.

A follow up to my iphone “sunset out of a moving car window ” photos. I have gotten a good start on an art quilt using some of the car window pics as an inspiration. I’ll post the small beginnings tomorrow.

weekly photo challenge fowarfA follow up to my iphone “sunset out of a moving car window ” photos. I have gotten a good start on an art quilt using some of the car window pics as an inspiration. I’ll post the small beginnings tomorrow. It may work out nicely, got the silk painting about finished. Now I’m about ready for the next step thread painting and final quilting, which are make or break points in the outcome.

60 MPH
60 MPH

 

moving fowardMG_0070

 

 

 

IMG_0071

Travel into the sunset

 

 

 

IMG_0002 - Copy (3)

 

 

 

Driving foward into the sunsetIMG_0002

 

 

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

3 replies on “A iphone photo I feel a quilt coming on.”

Scrappydo, Love your many photos of your darling dog We feel the same way about ours.Shes a sottie, never had a dog like her, adore her , whe is such a beautfal girl after a grooming.We have never seen the like of how apsolutely comical mical a dog is. They are independant self starteers, had to be that way to pursue badger in Scottland, owner could keep up to give direction, they were left to their own instinctive guidance. Really the only thing that gets a rise or is highly motivating is food,theylove food.And will do what is required of them only if food is on the line.Otherwise, can’t be bothered with listening to those silly humans, Can’t be sold before 3 months, need a mother to train them in what is ok behavior and what isn’t. A bui slow to respond, she’ll give a nip to help them learn the lesson needed.They seem to need a lot of nips to agree to the directive by Mom. So a full 3 months is highly recomrnded, that training by mother is invaluable. They are protective, loyal to a fault,a 1 owner dog, loves whole family but choose one person and that person becomes their human. Would have a hard time adjusting to a new owner I think,Friskey playful downnright egsuberant when happy
They they respomd to food, that’s it. Can’t be bothered with listening or obeying the “human”they fearclylove. Are territoral, suspicious and bond with gererally own family, not tolerant of visitors,1 owner dogWhen we got her monthes had passed, I was getting no where with potty training, just wouldn’t go it. In desperation called her breeder, knew just the thing thaat worked finally. My breeder”s advise? Cook up somebacon keep in pocket use as reward when does her business. She was potty traing by 9 months. Met other owners,are very impressed, it usually takes about a year. They are independent, rarely used in obedience trials dog shows, coan’t be borthered to jump through hoops for humans, no matter how much they love them, Makes scotties soumnd aweful but after owning one I’d never choose any other breed, most owers say the same. There is something so endearing, loyal and alert, aware, curious intelligent, yet the absolutely funniesty dog we have ever owned. There is no end to her antics, all delivered in an dry unawares sort way, “What? You’re laughing at me ,humm interesting. I’m just doing what comes natural,humans are such an odd breed,funny too” I restrain myself on the blog, but from one dog owner who adores her animal to another, I thought I wouldn’t bore you to tears.Maybe not,Lord help anyone reading this comment. 1 comment & I off and running on forever, no matteer the subject. Long winded I quess!
Barb

Like

You may use as many words or lines to describe the doggy family. I love it. Thanks for telling me about your dog. I did not know that Scotties are so single minded or kind of stubborn. It stil is an animal so we have to respect their likes also! 🙂

Like

Leave a comment