Categories
In Progress Older Posts- This and That Uncategorized

Am I addicted to stress, 3 at once?

I’ve started work on 3 quilts, don’t ask me why. I usually take em one at a time.The silk background is completed and the silk art painting finished. I’ve just begun the thread work, which is now where near finished as you see. I’ll post updated pictures along the wayI added lots of pearl to my paint colors as I mixed them. So to continue the sparkle, shine theme I’m using quite a lot of metallic threads for the thread work.

I began  work on 3 different quilts around the same time, don’t ask me why I would do such a thing. I am well aware of how obsessive I can become about finishing the projects that I start. I made this rule for myself long ago. That I must finish the projects that I start.

The rule expanded when I began quilting. It now became “I am not allowed to start a new quilt until I have finished my current one”. That’s was the rule and that’s that!” I had heard the legendary UFO s that quilters  so often bemoaned. Well, that was not going to be me, no siree, my rule would see to that. It certainly sounded easy enough, logical.

I think many of us thought that, when we were naïve quilt newbies, our eyes filled with stars. We would always finish our quilts. We would never dream of letting quilts pile up everywhere,unfinished, oh no we certainly would never let that happen. HA ha ha.

Then reality set in, this is not always easy to do. there are so many new wonderful fabrics to be had and endless beautiful quilts to be made. We get over stimulated just as small children are prone to do, running from one toy to the next, til they have emptied their entire toy box, toys scattered everywhere covering their play room floor. Now, they must all be picked up, “whaaaa I don’t want to Mom!!”.

Naturally I often ignore my rule, who wouldn’t? But oh the guilt and stress this creates. So why would I start 3 quilts, with full knowledge of “the” rule and the price to be paid for disobedience? Why would I start not just two, but three quilts? I cannot give a coherent answer to that question that I just asked myself.

So I have now meandered back to the beginning of this post, ” I began  work on 3 different quilts around the same time”. There they are hanging over my head, taunting me. But there it is, I have to finish them, I don’t handle that kind of stress well. So…

Of the three, [ here is the worst of it]  the quilt I am most driven to finish is a bed quilt for one of my granddaughters. I am in full all out guilt mode, I have to finish this and quickly!

My sweet darling teenaged granddaughter loves art deco and is revamping her bedroom in a art deco style. I was so excited that I could make a new quilt to fit the new art deco themed bedroom and surprise her. Well I spilled it, couldn’t keep my own secret. She has waited for the upcoming surprise quilt sooo long, without a single complaint.

I am finally making progress on getting this baby done. I am looking forward to giving it to her and seeing her happy happy reaction, well I am hoping for that reaction.

It is pictured below, almost done. I’m bouncing around ideas for  shams and throw pillows. Here’s one idea I have, I could try out on of the new fangled inkjet fabric printing products  that I keep hearing about. I thought I could make a copy of one of Alphonse Mucha‘s pictures on the fabric and make a throw pillow from this. What do you think? I don’t know what the fabric is actually like, so this is an experimental idea. If any one has had experience working with these products and would care to share any thoughts, suggestions or ideas I would appreciate the input.

IMG_7303

Unfinished quilt number two, next in on my list  is pictured below.

The silk background painting is completed and the silk art painting completed, I’ve begun the thread work, as you  can

see I’ve barely started.  I added lots of pearl to my paint colors as I mixed them.  So to to continue the sparkle, shine theme I’m using quite a lot of metallic threads. I am feeling good  how this is looking thus far.

IMG_7322BarbaraHarms Fiber Art

IMG_7319

IMG_7325BarbaraHarmsFiberArt

That’s a few photos of this one. All in all I’m feeling good, forward motion feels much better than stalling out.

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

3 replies on “Am I addicted to stress, 3 at once?”

Leave a comment