Categories
Recent Posts Uncategorized What's new?

Spring’s a Coming 

Spring, spring , spring
is here. With the prospect of all the lovely flowers to come, another thing comes to mind, art quilts with wonderful flowers and the sights of spring, summer and even into fall. .

BarbaraHarmsFiberArt-DreamInColorIMG_0021

 

Sunshine, Warmth and Water = An Ecstasy of Color and Fragrance

Just bought pots of early spring flowers, the first to hit the stores this Oregon spring. Every winter at the  exact moment when you know you can’t take one more dark dreary day, then spring arrives at that exact moment we need it. The dark dreary days are immediately  forgotten and forgiven because  IT IS SPRING IN OREGON!! And Oregon is a mighty great place to be in the spring!!

With the prospect of all the lovely flowers to come, another thing comes to mind. Art quilts with wonderful flowers and the sights of spring, summer and even into fall.

Oregon has new gifts to delight us every season, well winter has it’s own enjoyments, but using the word delight to describe winter might be a little much. Still a crackling fire, cuddly flannel PJs [they really must be flannel PJs to appreciate the whole experience] you in your wing chair reading, while the rain pelts your windows and you feel safe and sheltered from the storm or better yet snow is falling to the ground creating a silent world that initially seems clean and new, giving the world a fresh start.That’s not too bad of an experience either.**

The world is full of life and joy. I’m already planning for flowers and sunlight in the art quilts for this season, my favorite of seasons. Here are a few older seasons.

The colors of spring and summers past.

1tne-whole-world-under-the-sun33688_166808406694684_5247389_o-copy-copy(1)
“Everything Under the Sun” A silk painting with hours of applique and thread painting.
An Impressionist garden art qult
A silk art quilt, with wildly colored abstract flowers in this abstract garden, “Impression of a Garden”
A silk painted fiber art quilt, blue skys and pink dogwoods
“Blue and Pink” celebrating the dogwoods abloom. 
"One Peony"-Barbara Harms
An art quilt, “One Peony”.A stylized peony in soft pearly colors.
More detail
A section of the art quilt “Orange and Blue Field”
Orange and Blue Field
A detail from the art quilt “Orange and Blue Field”.

 

Big Sky

“Big Sky” a stylized garden fiber art wall hanging.

Barbara Harms Poppy art quilt 003 copy
“Two Red Poppies”

Had Enough?

I could go on and on.If you’d like more, see my Stylized Nature Gallery.

I also have several stylized floral silk paintings, including a few pictured here. which are currently available on my website.

http://BarbaraHarmsFiberArt.com

 

++ I can blithely say that about our winters here in Oregon,because our snow and rain, doesn’t create the kind of disastrous condition’s found in may other parts of the country. You have our sympathy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

Leave a comment