Categories
Archeives Blog posts Home Home and Garden In Progress Nature Quilts New quilts Older Posts- Original art low price Stylized Flowers Art Quilts stylized nature Uncategorized What's new?

Cherry Blossoms, It’s Raining Pink!

“It’s Raining Pink”. This art quilt is from the perspective of looking up the trunk of an old twisted cherry tree. It carries the scars gained from many years. As you look up you see a cloud of pink above. Your eyes follow the slow drift of a pink petal as it finally reaches the ground below your feet, that is covered with pink. Is it raining pink?

  • I have been working on a new quilt that has kept me mighty busy. It’s a 4 foot by 18 inch panel. The subject is an old gnarled cherry tree,with the perspective of looking up the trunk of an old gnarled twisted cherry tree to a pink cloud of blossoms.
  • I painted my cherry blossoms on silk and cut them all out. Then I began to applique zillions of the pink blossoms.onto the fabric I had painted for the background. To give the jfinal details and depth, I used thread painting. It adds an almost sculptural element.
  • I will be seeing pink for some time to come.
  • I finished my quilt and here it is.” It’s Raining Pink.
  • This art quilt is from the perspective of looking up the trunk of an old twisted cherry tree. It carries the scars gained from many years. As you look up you see a cloud of pink above. Your eyes follow the slow drift of a pink petal as it finally reaches the ground below your feet, that is  covered with pink. Is it raining pink?

It's Raining Pink- detail

It's Raining Pink

perfect pink blossoms cover the limb

++

 

 

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

11 replies on “Cherry Blossoms, It’s Raining Pink!”

There are so many paints available, I like Pebeo Setacolor a lot, the consitancy is perfect for me, but everyones different so…also it has many color choices, which give you more freedom to mix the color that you want exactly, I’m not just saying that because they bought one of my art quilts for a trade show, to demo their use in art quilts! It really is good paint!
There’s Dyno Flo, but it’s thinner and has a tendency to bleed more. Still it gives a few more colors to fill in. I use it but take into account the thinner consistancy.There is Jaquard, very thick rich color. You will need to do your own color mixing to achieve the color you want, so you you’ll need a palette and good brushes. All these are are water soluble so can be cleaned with water. This also means they caN mixed with each other.Another of my favorite mediums is colored acrylic inks, I love the look. They can be mixed with tthe other paints mentioned.O ne fiber artist said she uses Airbrush paint, so to each their own.One point about silk painting, it is next to impossible to go back and touch it up, over paint or add additional color or detail. The color will bleed all over and it will leave water marks., It takes a lot of experience to do, and it is a trial and error thing you pick up over time. Hope this helps.-Barb [Ask me a simple question, and I rattle on forever]

Like

I just came across ur page cause I too am changing my dining room into a studio! I love love love ur work, you are an amazing artist! Great job Barbara!

Like

I’m so glad you found me, I’m just starting a series on this, maybe it have something useful. Please share any ideas you come across with, and help us out. I have one work of the best advise I can give you, think Ikea!!If there’s a showroom near, go, see, take a pad and pen,a lunch and stay the day no kidding!!they have so so many ideas for conserving space. Look everywhere, kitchen stuff, bedrooms, dressers, office. Almost every display room is jammed with ideas so useful if you think of it in another application.They’re affordable,downright cheap, shelving oh that’s the best,boxes, crates hanging baskets. Even if you aren’t in a position to buy, it will give you unbelievable ideas that you can adapt. They have catalogs, ok but not the same as a zillion display rooms. But anywho, I’m sharing some of our ideas, searching the web for more, I’ll start to add some pics next post.
Barb
Barb

Like

Thank you for your nice comment I appreciated it very much.
Sorry I didn’t respond sooner, the comments weren’ showing up on my dashboard , I just noticed when I signed on , notifactictions. I have missed so many comments like yours, Oh Crumbles!

Like

Leave a comment