Categories
Blog posts Internet Nature Quilts New quilts Older Posts- Stylized Floral Gallery Stylized Flowers Art Quilts The internet The internet, A Shrinking World and connecting Hollyhock Lovers Everywhere! Uncategorized What's new?

The Internet, A Shrinking World and Connecting With Hollyhock Lovers Everywhere!

An new owner of one of my art quilts found an interesting benefit in hanging fiber art.
An art quilt could add a level of comfort, I can see how it would feel more like home and less like an office. When she mentioned it, I thought of how comforting it was as a child, being wrapped in Grandma’s quilt. It would also block out the sounds of a noisy city, much more relaxing.

Barbara Harms Fiber Art asianartandquilts.comThis has been my month for hollyhocks. It began with a hollyhock art quilt. One of my customers, who owns a fabric art gallery purchased another art quilt from me. This is the 9th quilt for her.

She first found me through the internet.The quilt she chose this time was the hollyhock quilt, pictured above. I was delighted. This quilt was one of my favorites, and it was going to a woman who I Like, a very nice person.

However before it sold, it captured the attention of another person.

A short jump across the ocean, a psychologist with a practice in Australia noticed the hollyhock quilt while online. She has an affinity for hollyhocks. One is even pictured on her business cards.

She also has an interest in art quilts, with a large one already hanging in her office.

The internet has shrunk the world, it seems smaller.That thought is no great revelation, we hear it all the time. However my own tiny example impressed that truth upon me personally.
We have the ability to connect with people living on the other side of the planet, how unbelievable. .

Three people’s lives overlapped for a moment in time, based on a mutual interest in the same simple art quilt. Living many miles apart, it was unlikely their paths ever would have crossed.

To take this a step further. The psychologist, living in Australia, was able to locate and contact the quilt’s maker, living in the states. Two people, living in two different countries brought together despite the huge populations and miles. A business transaction is made. The psychologist is able to obtain an art quilt that suits her needs and the artist gains a new commission.

The world of commerce has now become a global market.

What strikes me as its greatest potential is we now have the ability to some insight into our differences and similarities.

We’re not that different, we love babies and animals, have a need for love and acceptance. And people everywhere like hollyhocks and quilts.

My quilt’s new owner will be in the states, near to where I am. She will pick it up in person if it’s done. I will enjoy meeting her, a pleasure I rarely have.

I like where my quilt is going, she offers help to those in need of it and she likes hollyhocks and quilts. I think it has found a good home.

Red Hollyhock fiber art quilt update
This is the Red Hollyhock quilt ready for quilting, holly hocks appliqued on, thread paint finished.
Barbara Harms Fiber Art
This is the original art quilt that brought 3 hollyhock lovers from all over the world together.

 

 

Red hollyhocks art quilt detail of one stock
The applique and thread painting is finished on this red hollyhock

[caption id="attachment_10349" align="align center" width="200"]https://barbaraharmsfiberart.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/cb0b6-red-hollyhock-detail-12.jpg A detailed view of a spray of large hollyhocks from the Red hollyhock art quilt.

art quilt. Ready to quilt[/caption]

hollyhock progress detail 3
Ready to quilt. The Red Hollyhock quilt has the quilting yet to be dome.

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

4 replies on “The Internet, A Shrinking World and Connecting With Hollyhock Lovers Everywhere!”

Barbara: Just thought I’d let you know whenever I click on your links I get an error. I enjoyed watching you move through your art quilts, I make them as well so I follow numerous others to see what is going on out there. But I can never seem to really connect with your website.

Love your sewing/painting/finished works though!

Carole – a fellow art quilter

_____

Like

Carole I tried as many links as I could, but didn’t find the problem you spoke of. I’m wondering if I misunderstood your meaning. Do you mean the category “tabs” at the top of the page under the header? The tabs that take you to the different places like tutorials, galleries,about ect? I appreciate your letting me know the problem, and if you could direct me in the right direction I appreciate any help I can get. Barb

Like

Thanks, Carole! I don’t have my issue yet, but will look forward to getting it!

I agree that you should start with playing with fabric, then use it for a purse or a garment! That way, you get all three!

Leanne L. Hopkins

studio JOY designs

425-971-1803

Like

Leave a comment