Categories
Blog posts In Progress Internet Nature Quilts New quilts Older Posts- Stylized Flowers Art Quilts The internet Uncategorized What's new?

That’s a Wrap, Hollyhocks and Ladybugs

This is a floral art quilt, but I wanted to add a contemporary spin, a little non traditional. So I chose to give the flowers and stalks a disproportional profile. As my husband observed , it would be how the world might look to a little bug as he looked up at the huge world. hat’s a Wrap http://wp.me/pZYTG-3ar Here is the contemporary art quilt I’ve been working on

BarbaraHarmsFiber Art Red Hollyhock Quilt

 

 

I’ve been working busily on my hollyhock quilt and now it’s finished. I’m a bit disappointed that it’s over, it was a really enjoyable project. I need to catch up on a few things and then officially start on my next commissioned quilt. I say “officially”, when in reality, I’ve been bouncing ideas around in my mind , long before today. I’ve done a few preliminary sketches, playing around with possibilities. I can already tell that I am going to find this an interesting project.

This red hollyhock art quilt was a commission. Commissions present an interesting challenge, I think it’s a beneficial to take a step back, and work on a theme that may not be your usual approach or subject matter. It might be stepping out of what has become your comfort zone.  For a commission to work, you need to translate it into your own interpretation of the subject. This was an easy quilt to capture my interest and spark my own enthusiasm.  It is a theme I enjoy working with. I love doing stylized flowers, and hollyhocks? Well goodness yes! That was a bit of a coincidence. My client loves hollyhocks, she even has their images on her business cards. When she received her quilt, I enclosed in the paperwork one of my older business cards, it also contained a wonderful image of hollyhocks . When this fact had first occurred to me, I had to  laugh, we were a good fit, my client and her artist.
I’ve posted some pictures of the progress along the way. Now it’s finished, here’s the finished red hollyhock quilt. It has it’s title now, “A Bug’s Eye View”. As I worked on the finishing touches,  my husband stood there looking at  the nearly finished quilt. He decided it needed a little bug in it. Humm…

It is a floral art quilt, I added a slightly contemporary spin, a little non traditional approach to a floral theme. I chose to give the flowers and stalks a disproportional profile. As my husband observed, this is how the large would appear, seen through the eyes of a tiny bug, dwarfed by it’s hugeness. I thought it might work, a cute little ladybug, that you would barely notice. But first, I needed to run the idea by Karen, the lovely lady who had commissioned the piece, how would she feel about this? She liked the idea and so my little ladybug became a part of this quilt. And that is how the red hollyhock art quilt came by it’s title “A Bug’s Eye View”.

You’ve seen the progression, here is the finished version. You may notice that the ladybug is missing, she truly was a last minute addition. I had already taken the final photos.

But after she was added into the picture, as I stared at the quilt, evaluating it, I realized that she was indispensable. She needed to be right where she is, looking up at the great big world from the ground, viewing a group of red hollyhocks.

 

I added texture to the leaves, they are not just visually dimensional, but have actual texture and dimension.

Barbara Harms Fiber Art a art quilt A Bug's Barbara Harms Fiber Art finished red hollyhock quilt top

 

Barbara Harms Fiber Art contemporary floral art quiltBarbara Harms Fiber Barbara Harms Fiber Art detail of the quilting on the hock art quilt

 

Barbara Harms Fiber Art a fiber art quilt with thread painted hollyhocks
Closer view of quilting

 

 

 

.

Barbara Harms Fiber Art red holly hocks art quilt

IMG_Ladybug quilt, landscape quilt, lady bug, hollyhock quilt

 

Barbara Harms Fiber Art modern art quilt
One of the thread painted hollyhocks

 

 

By Barbara Harms Fiber Art

About Myself & My Approach
Art has always played a role in my life, in one form or another. by my teens I had narrowed my focus to painting. I decided I was going to become a serious painter. I joined the Las Vegas Artist's Guild at 15, the youngest member at that time. I was completely out of place, I tried to go unnoticed, a mute fly on the wall, with a big smile pasted on my face.
I've continued to paint most of my life.
After a move to Oregon years later, I was introduced to quilting and fell in love.
I was introduced to quilting & fell in love.
In time I missed the creative freedom painting made possible.

Then I discovered mixed media fiber art, I was home.

MY APPROACH TO ART
It's the creative process that holds the greatest attraction for me. Starting with a tiny seed of an idea; vague and blurred around the edges, I follow where that leads. There are often many changes and adjustments along the way. The result can often be surprizing.

My approach is an instinctual one. Generally, I do little pre-planning. I make creative decisions, choices, directions as they present themselves.
This approach can lead to quite a few changes in the direction.
I love that element of surprize!

Sometimes I have one that I especially like, I can't wait to show someone.
At that moment l feel like a six year old, running home from school, a drawing in hand, excited to show Mom. At those times. I'm smiling like the Cheshire cat.

I’ve had some of my work published in several magazines. which is exciting. But the most gratifying thing is having clients be really happy with their purchased art quilt.

Word press https://barbaraharmsfiberart.com
Etsy shop-sales https://barbaraharms.com

Contact: inquiry barbaraharmsfiberart@icloud.com.com
Personal Links

4 replies on “That’s a Wrap, Hollyhocks and Ladybugs”

Your Hollyhocks are breathtaking, so real. I love thread painting and you do it justice! Very lively. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Like

Thank you.And yes it can be hard to part with something so personal. But on the other hand, I generally have been able to “meet” their new owners, even if it’s only online or the phone. I try to have some opportunity to connect with them, I often get sense of their personalities.I can honestly say that I like my customers.some have even become friends, we keep in touch. When one of your works goes to someone you genuinely like and you can see how happy they are, it’s a bit like sending one of your puppies to a good home, if you felt they wouldn’t be loved, well, you wouldn’t do it. That’s one reason I enjoy Etsy feedback or feedback on purchases here.It’s gratifying when they see it in person, and they love it.One example of all these factors is the sweet lady, Karen, who commissioned this art quilt [feels odd to describe her as sweet, she’s very competent & professional, but she is sweet, a nice person.] I think her choice of profession, says a lot. It would take a special type of personality to able to connect with a client, to the point where they felt comfortable enough to open themselves and share deeply personal things. That’s good example of my customers, nice people that I like.Funny, interesting, kind and warm, all different, yet enjoyable to form a small connection with. Sure makes it easier to part with one of my puppies.

Like

Leave a comment